What is the Schengen Visa?

The Schengen area is a group of European countries that have abolished internal borders, allowing free movement of people and goods within the area. The Schengen agreement was signed in 1985, and it was implemented in 1995. Currently, there are 26 countries in the Schengen area, including most of the European Union member states, as well as Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.
One of the key aspects of the Schengen area is the Schengen visa. This visa is a type of visa that allows travelers to enter and move freely within the Schengen area for a limited period of time. The Schengen visa is issued by the Schengen member state that is the traveler’s main destination or the first country they enter.

How to get a Schengen Visa.

To obtain a Schengen visa, an applicant must first determine which member state they will be visiting or entering first. They must then apply for a visa at the embassy or consulate of that member state in their home country. The applicant must provide a range of documents, including a valid passport, proof of travel insurance, and evidence of sufficient funds to cover their stay in the Schengen area. The processing time for a Schengen visa application varies depending on the member state and can take up to several weeks.
Schengen Visa

Types of Schengen Visas.

There are three types of Schengen visas: the short-stay visa, the transit visa, and the airport transit visa. The short-stay visa is the most common type and allows travelers to stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. The transit visa is for those who will be passing through the Schengen area on their way to another destination outside of the area. The airport transit visa is for those who will be changing flights at a Schengen airport but will not be leaving the airport’s international zone.
Once a traveler has obtained a Schengen visa, they can travel freely within the Schengen area without any further border checks. This means that a traveler can visit multiple Schengen countries without having to obtain additional visas or go through border controls. However, it is important to note that the Schengen visa does not allow the traveler to work or study in the Schengen area.

What to expect.

The Schengen area has a number of benefits for both travelers and member states. For travelers, it allows for greater ease of travel and the ability to visit multiple countries without the need for additional visas. For member states, it promotes economic growth and cultural exchange, as well as providing greater security cooperation.
However, the Schengen area also has its challenges. One of the biggest challenges is the issue of border control and security. The free movement of people within the Schengen area means that member states must rely on cooperation and coordination to maintain border security. This has become a particularly pressing issue in recent years with the increase in migration to Europe.
Another challenge is the issue of asylum and refugee policies. The Schengen area does not have a unified asylum policy, which has led to differing policies and practices among member states. This has led to a growing sense of tension and disagreement among member states, particularly in the wake of the refugee crisis that began in 2015.


In conclusion, the Schengen area and the Schengen visa are important components of European travel and cooperation. They allow for greater ease of travel and promote economic and cultural exchange among member states. However, they also present challenges, particularly in the areas of border control and security, as well as asylum and refugee policies. As the Schengen area continues to evolve and adapt to changing circumstances, it will be important to address these challenges and ensure that the benefits of the Schengen area are preserved for future generations.
Categories: Visa Info


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visa Travels